Giveaway of the Day Forums » Good software we need to know about

Almost Free MS office Pro 2007

(7 posts)
  • Started 10 months ago by flametiger74
  • Latest reply from BuBBy

  1. flametiger74
    Member

    I found a site that has a really cheap ms office Pro 2007 it's only $49.99
    I'm not sure they are a legal reseller b/c I tried to find them on the microsoft webstie for a licensed resseller but I couldn't find one.
    If anyone has any expireiene on this website please either post so here or e-mail me [no emails]

    <Site deleted>

    Posted 10 months ago #
  2. You have lots of similar sites.

    If it's too good to be true, then it must be.

    I would not waste any money on Office 2007, it's like Vista, a damp squib.

    Posted 10 months ago # | Login to Send PM
  3. I don't know about vista, but office 07 is a really improvement. I use it, and like it much.

    Like Lee, I wouldn't trust a site selling such a software for such a cheap price and I would feel quite uncomfortable with giving them my credit card #.
    If you are a student, Microsoft is selling office 07 to you for $60. http://www.theultimatesteal.com/home.asp

    Posted 10 months ago #
  4. flametiger74
    Member

    Well I'm a student but not a college student.
    I asked a guy on the support team for this website if he had any authenticae licensce from microsoft and he said not that he knew of and I also asked how is it possible that it's so cheap and he said that they get a volume discount where basicly the more they sell the more of a discount they get. So I went on the microsoft website and searched through the list of licensed resellers and I couldn't find them as one. I was thinking that on the order page it said you could use paypal so maybe that would be a safer way to pay.
    Also I think that this site is a bit to blank. There selling all this stuff, but the only adds i've seen of them were from google and they have no about page or something like that. Sound a bit fishy.
    Just saying all my thoughts at once.

    Posted 10 months ago #
  5. One thing to look for - there are no contact details - no indication of a licensed company name - no location where they are based - no emails - no phone numbers.

    They are also selling Alcohol 120% - of which I am a licensed user. I have put in a support call to check with Alcohol Software if they know anything about these people etc.

    If the Alcohol 120% licenses are pirated - it is almost certain everything else is also.

    Also Alcohol 120% sells for $44USD - this site sells it for $9.90 - now they can tell you all they like about bulk purchases and discounts - but an 80% discount?

    Update: I've heard back from Alcohol Software - The site is illegal. Stay away from them. The software is pirated.

    Posted 10 months ago # | Login to Send PM
  6. Dragonlair
    Member

    I hope you can get the site shut down. Even one copyright holder should be able to do that. That is the kind of stuff I've been seeing for craft patterns for years. The designers are screaming!

    Posted 10 months ago #
  7. It's out of my hands now. I've brought it to their attention - they will probably notify the other companies (Microsoft, Autodesk, Symantec and more) and do whatever they can.

    I feel sorry for the gullible people who were tricked into believing they were purchasing something legit. Effectively they have paid around $100 USD to download a single piece of pirated software from a warez server.

    Posted 10 months ago # | Login to Send PM

RSS feed for this topic

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.