Giveaway of the Day Forums » Software Talks

My Free Website Builder

(5 posts)
  • Started 6 months ago by k8UndeadFox
  • Latest reply from FreewareFan

  1. My Free Website Builder Is Worth $197.00 but it's free For a limited time only!
    Go to - link to dodgey site removed -
    After registering this will take you to the next page - scroll to the bottom of this page for the download link. WARNING - lots of annying ads.

    Don't know how good this software is as I've never heard of it before so don't shoot the messenger boy (well in this case messenger girl)!

    Kate

    Posted 6 months ago #
  2. FreewareFan
    Member

    Well, thanks for the thought, Kate, but the link is dead. :-(

    UPDATE:

    Ah, we just need to remove the period at the end of your link for it to work right.

    Many Thanks!!

    Posted 6 months ago #
  3. ShieldsUp
    Member

    Freeware, this is spam personified. A growing number of get rich quick spammers have found a new lure by creating "informative" ebooks and instant web site packages as a way to ensnare gullible people. Then, they bombard the suckers with spam trying to get them to upgrade and buy a bunch of add ons.
    The web site wasn't dead, just the URL she posted. If you go to the main page, you get hit with several pages of poorly designed in-your-face touting. PCWOrld shows this offer has been out there since August.
    http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/userreviews/fid,67095/userreviews.html#
    Only 202 suckers downloaded that program. The only one to give feedback said:
    Reviewed by: sgt218
    Sun Aug 19 07:10:10 PDT 2007
    Duration of ownership: 1 Months
    Strengths: None
    Weaknesses: Nothing but advertising!
    Overall Evaluation: This fool expects you to filter through their exhaustive list of advertising crap to try and find the download program, which I honestly do not think even exists! FLEE FROM THIS!!!There are better and more ethical vendors.

    Says it all, doesn't it?

    Posted 6 months ago #
  4. Lockett
    Member

    The random capitalization is a good warning sign, too.

    Posted 6 months ago #
  5. FreewareFan
    Member

    Hello, Shields. Yep, it wasn't until I removed the period from the end of her provided link, that I actually got into the website.

    It only took me a couple of minutes to see the *writing on the wall*. I've just been busy doing other things and have not been back here to post further, until just a minute ago.

    All that to say this: You are correct, spam all the way on that offer of a freebie! Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying that Kate was spamming, just that the website is trying their best to lure people into their scheme. After all, Kate did post a disclaimer, yes? :-)

    Take care, friend!

    Posted 6 months ago #

RSS feed for this topic

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.