Giveaway of the Day Forums » Software Talks

About My Closed Topic

(10 posts)
  • Started 10 months ago by FreewareFan
  • Latest reply from delenn13

  1. FreewareFan
    Member

    My humble apologies. I had no idea that it was a One Day only offer! It does not say that on their website, and the page and download link certainly do still work just fine.

    I by no means meant to break any rules here.

    Posted 10 months ago #
  2. FreewareFan
    Member

    This is to whomever closed my topic about Free WinRAR 3.51. I don't know if it was a moderator, or the site admin, because I got no message or anything, but whoever did it, I believe was mistaken.

    Who ever did it stated that it was a 1 Day Only offer, but I believe that to be incorrect. I've done some further checking, and I offer this as evidence:

    If you do a search on Google, you come up with this:
    http://www.google.com/search?q=free+winrar&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a

    Now, the sixth link down, you will clearly see that the offer is still valid, and still in place.

    If it were only a 1 Day offer, why was the link still good, why did the company still send me my valid key file, and why is it still listed on Google?

    Just wondering?

    Posted 10 months ago #
  3. Michelle
    Member

    http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/freedownloadscenter.com?domain=freedownloadscenter.com&ref=safe&client_ver=FF_26.5_6175&locale=en-US&premium=false&client_type=FF&aff_id=0

    "In our tests, we found downloads on this site that some people consider adware, spyware or other potentially unwanted programs."

    why is it still listed on Google?

    A lot of things are still on search engines and the offer is expired.

    http://www.win-rar.com/bestoverallutility/

    I use http://securezip.com/

    Posted 10 months ago #
  4. "In our tests, we found downloads on this site that some people consider adware, spyware or other potentially unwanted programs."

    why is it still listed on Google?

    Google just indexes "whatever is there", and 9 times out of 10 Site Advisor is misleading, irrelevant or just plain wrong.

    A lot of things are still on search engines and the offer is expired.

    They are still on search engines, because they are still on the websites.

    Posted 10 months ago # | Login to Send PM
  5. Michelle
    Member

    "Google just indexes "whatever is there", and 9 times out of 10 Site Advisor is misleading, irrelevant or just plain wrong."

    I don't know especially when you read all the comments on the site advisor page, a bunch of them. They all lying?

    "They are still on search engines, because they are still on the websites."

    But that doesn't mean the offer isn't expired, right?

    If you are looking for freebies with search engines chances are you are going to find expired promotions and deals. I do all the time.

    The site in question isn't winnrar's site, I really don't think it matters what they say. I run into promotions sometimes that are expired they simply just didn't take it down and sometimes it will be still possible to get even after the expiration.

    Posted 10 months ago #
  6. FreewareFan
    Member

    "A lot of things are still on search engines and the offer is expired.

    http://www.win-rar.com/bestoverallutility/ "

    If I'm not mistaken, that offer was from the WinRAR people themselves, yes? The offer I posted was from a different company, Simtel, yes? Same version of the program, I understand, however two different companies making offers. See my point?

    Anyways, rather than drag this out, I'll just take it as a learning experience and move on. As I said, I in no way intended to violate any rules of this forum, and certainly do NOT advocate anything illegal whatsoever!

    I'll attempt to do my homework better the next time I start to post an offer.

    Posted 10 months ago #
  7. About 1 year ago rar labs asked people to register their interest in winrar v3.51 with respect to receiving an email with the code for a single user licence of winrar v3.51

    Not everyone received the licence straight away it took a week in total for all those interested to receive their single user licence.

    It was only allowed to be used during that period, a bit like the GAOTD period.

    So this is not an offer that is carrying on as winrar is now v3.91 and the licence offered as a special one-time-only offer means no way can you use the serial key on the next build.

    There are lots of decompressing software advertised by the patrons here that are free and do a job as good as winrar.

    Posted 10 months ago # | Login to Send PM
  8. I don't know especially when you read all the comments on the site advisor page, a bunch of them. They all lying?

    No. The comments usually just make me roll my eyes. All these people who installed "CasinoGold" or "WinFixer" and then had to format their computers. I'm sorry but these people probably need to install Anti-Virus, Anti-Spyware and a Firewall. Perhaps for some people SiteAdvisor provides a "valuable" service.

    I just find it really annoying when I read comments of people telling me not to go to a site because "Site Advisor rated Red". In truth they have no real understanding of why - just some other "tragic" got spooked by a "review" written by someone else who was "ill equipped" to surf the internet.

    People should learn the basics and take steps to protect themselves. Sure they are probably all well meaning... just frustratingly inexperienced and uneducated.

    For example: http://forum.orbitdownloader.com/viewtopic.php?id=15760

    /rant endeth...

    Posted 10 months ago # | Login to Send PM
  9. Michelle
    Member

    I know sometimes they can be a little unfair Bubby. I don't agree with them siting one site for links to red downloads/sites if they are not going to do it for all of them.

    A good example would be www.cnet.com http://www.download.com/Spyware-Removers/3150-8022_4-0-2-0.html?tag=dir (I noticed a lot of links on their that are red especially usually under the sponsors.) But they are green, I don't understand that.

    http://img502.imageshack.us/my.php?image=mcafeefi5.jpg

    Go to www.oneclicksoftwaredownload.com (that is a red site) and found on cnet.

    I can't understand why they give some websites the red for having a red link, but not them all.

    Posted 10 months ago #
  10. I use SiteAdvisor but as an ADVISOR. I also use Linkscanner. Here is a site that compares the two. http://www.explabs.com/products/ls_advantage.asp

    I decide where I go.

    Posted 10 months ago #

RSS feed for this topic

Reply

You must log in to post.