Giveaway of the Day Forums » Talks

Too good to be true?

(7 posts)

  1. Face
    Member

    Does anyone have any experience with this site?

    http://www.fullreleases.com/tour_NEW.php

    It claims to have thousands of the latest movies, TV shows, music and game titles available to download for a one-time fee of $4.95 (if paid through some adult site - I haven't checked out that part yet) or $29.95 (for an eGuide - and the downloads, from an affiliate site - which is not an adult site).

    I do understand the concept "If it seems too good to be true, it probably is!" But I wondered if anyone has any experience with it first hand.

    If it does turn out to be a scam, does anyone know of any legitimate sites that offer anything similar?

    Posted 1 year ago #
  2. Theleecher
    Member

    They are so good, they even have downloads, up to 780MB, for a completely fictitious name that I made up on the spot and mis-spelled as well - though you'll have to register to get them.

    Tried another, yes, they can get me cracks, keys and downloads for "virtual extreme ironing" - and if that actually exists, I'll eat my hat, with mustard on (and I hate mustard, not keen on hats either)

    It's a pay for P2P filesharing software SCAM, and I hope I've just proved that they will claim to have ANYTHING, but it is not a real search that they are showing.

    Posted 1 year ago #
  3. I've been looking for the latest version of "virtual extreme ironing" for weeks now. Maybe GOTD can arrange with the developers to offer it as "giveaway" software.

    Websites like this are nothing but a complete scam - users end up paying for something that everyone else has free access to. Most sites like this simply lift free content (ie torrents) from other free sites and present it in a "members only" area.

    Posted 1 year ago # | Login to Send PM
  4. Face
    Member

    Guys, good news! Virtual Extreme Ironing is freeware!! (Get the hat and the mustard ready!!) In fact, I worked with the production company which developed this introductory video:

    http://www.extremeironing.com/error.php

    I know, small joke, but cute, huh? (The dialog it types in the little box ...) I never knew a server could be in such bad shape... This will take you to the video:

    http://www.coomatarlow.com/#Feature

    Or a news flash:

    http://archives.cbc.ca/IDC-1-41-1727-11884/sports/extreme_sports/

    But seriously, this is the real site. (You have to follow this link, then click on the top choice "1000000000 ...") - I couldn't get it any other way - sorry:

    http://www.google.com/search?q=virtual+extreme+ironing&rls=com.microsoft:en-us:IE-SearchBox&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&sourceid=ie7

    Who knew? It really exists!

    All kidding aside, thanks for the info. My next question is - can you legally get this kind of stuff and is P2P filesharing safe? If so, can you give me a site?

    Final question: Last week I clicked in a file on my desktop where I kept most of the software I have downloaded from GOTD and it was empty! After I picked myself up off the floor, I sat down and tried to figure out what happened to it. I realise that probably just the shortcuts are gone, but where did they go? I live alone and no one else touches this computer(except the kitten I got for Christmas, and his only interest is in pulling off the keys - so I'm down to typing on the little rubber bumpers and going back over everything I type to find where I guessed wrong which keys were which.)Is it possible one of the "cleaners" like Premiom Booster cleaned them off because I hadn't used them recently? Have you ever heard of this?

    Thanks for all the help
    Face

    Posted 1 year ago #
  5. You are missing all your shortcuts? Where did they go?

    Have you been using Glary Utilities by any chance?

    Posted 1 year ago # | Login to Send PM
  6. Face
    Member

    As a matter of fact, I was just starting to look at that one - Why? What did I do?

    And what are you doing up at this hour? I was just headed to bed when I caught your post? Glad you're still up!

    Posted 1 year ago #
  7. Face, d00d sites like that then give you a file like eDonkey or Limewire so you can pirate software, films & music.

    Free cost nothing.

    Free does not expect a payment of any kind.

    Posted 1 year ago # | Login to Send PM

RSS feed for this topic

Reply

You must log in to post.