<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!-- generator="bbPress/1.2" -->
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom">
	<channel>
		<title>Giveaway of the Day Forums &#187; Topic: Virus/trojan on Boxoft Photo Magic &quot;Photomagicmaker.exe&quot;</title>
		<link>https://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/topic/8901</link>
		<description>Giveaway of the Day Forums &#187; Topic: Virus/trojan on Boxoft Photo Magic &quot;Photomagicmaker.exe&quot;</description>
		<language>en-US</language>
		<pubDate>Tue, 09 Jun 2026 23:55:57 +0000</pubDate>
		<generator>http://bbpress.org/?v=1.2</generator>
		<atom:link href="https://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/rss/topic/8901" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />

		<item>
			<title>notblocklox on "Virus/trojan on Boxoft Photo Magic &quot;Photomagicmaker.exe&quot;"</title>
			<link>https://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/topic/8901#post-85805</link>
			<pubDate>Sun, 28 Nov 2010 08:19:57 +0000</pubDate>
			<dc:creator>notblocklox</dc:creator>
			<guid isPermaLink="false">85805@https://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/</guid>
			<description><p>I close this thread and copy the posts into the correct topic:</p>
<p><a href="http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/topic/719/page/8#post-85804">Review Trojan/Virus Reports</a></p>
<p>graylox
</p></description>
		</item>
		<item>
			<title>Robert on "Virus/trojan on Boxoft Photo Magic &quot;Photomagicmaker.exe&quot;"</title>
			<link>https://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/topic/8901#post-85749</link>
			<pubDate>Fri, 26 Nov 2010 22:11:25 +0000</pubDate>
			<dc:creator>Robert</dc:creator>
			<guid isPermaLink="false">85749@https://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/</guid>
			<description><p>I wrote the developer about this when the main exe was quarantined over here on 2010/11/22.<br />
As far as I can tell it was something about some code lines and the way the main exe was compressed.</p>
<p>Anyway ,below is the friendly answer I received from Boxoft.com back then:<br />
(in case the problem persisted)</p>
<p><blockquote>Thanks for contacting me.<br />
I&#39;m sorry for any inconvenience that might cause. Will you please download the trial version from our website directly to have another try: <a href="http://links.giveawayoftheday.com/boxoft.com/photo-magic-maker%2F">http://boxoft.com/photo-magic-maker/</a> ?<br />
Thanks for all.</p>
<p>Best Regards,<br />
Alice Li</blockquote></p>
<p>No problems/alerts with the version on their website (being version 1.1)...<br />
...and the program is still registered. :)
</p></description>
		</item>
		<item>
			<title>notblocklox on "Virus/trojan on Boxoft Photo Magic &quot;Photomagicmaker.exe&quot;"</title>
			<link>https://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/topic/8901#post-85745</link>
			<pubDate>Fri, 26 Nov 2010 18:03:54 +0000</pubDate>
			<dc:creator>notblocklox</dc:creator>
			<guid isPermaLink="false">85745@https://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/</guid>
			<description><p>Looking at the results, the hits are widely spread over several AV programmes. Nevertheless, that can be a false positive.</p>
<p>Be assured, the GOTD team scans every package they give away. When you download directly from the developer - then there is of course no guarantee.</p>
<p>Sometimes scanners find a new trojan/virus only after some time. So there is never a safety of 100%.<br />
I downloaded the programme but deleted it, because I don&#39;t like it, so I can&#39;t look at it now.<br />
As an advice: send the file to your or any other AV laboratory to test if it is a false positive.<br />
I would quarantine the programme for some days, and redo the scan, when it&#39;s a false positive (most likely), the AV tools will be updated and the scan will be clean.</p>
<p>Good luck.</p>
<p>graylox
</p></description>
		</item>
		<item>
			<title>garmnut on "Virus/trojan on Boxoft Photo Magic &quot;Photomagicmaker.exe&quot;"</title>
			<link>https://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/topic/8901#post-85744</link>
			<pubDate>Fri, 26 Nov 2010 17:32:42 +0000</pubDate>
			<dc:creator>garmnut</dc:creator>
			<guid isPermaLink="false">85744@https://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/</guid>
			<description><p>My F-secure would like to remove Photomagicmaker.exe &#39;cos it thinks it&#39;s trojan..</p>
<p>Sending file to the Virus Total give following results: 9/43 scanners think it&#39;s trojanhorse.<br />
<a href="http://links.giveawayoftheday.com/virustotal.com/file-scan%2Freport.html%3Fid%3D1fe94dc800bcc31a36c05db1231eda609ff25b52fffc62d3fb0b6eefab052424-1290756295">http://www.virustotal.com/file-scan/report.html?id=1fe94dc800bcc31a36c05db1231eda609ff25b52fffc62d3fb0b6eefab052424-1290756295</a></p>
<p>So... what to do? If I let F-secure neutralize it, it do remove that .exe and good bye for the software.. </p>
<p>If it really is infected, then I do hope that giveawayoftheday NEVER EVER give anything made by same creators!
</p></description>
		</item>

	</channel>
</rss>
