<?xml version="1.0"?><!-- generator="bbPress" -->

<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
>

<channel>
<title>Giveaway of the Day Forums Topic: McAfee SiteAdvisor Warning!</title>
<link>http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/</link>
<description>Giveaway of the Day Forums Topic: McAfee SiteAdvisor Warning!</description>
<language>en</language>
<pubDate>Sat, 05 Jul 2008 04:14:33 +0000</pubDate>

<item>
<title>guest32 on "McAfee SiteAdvisor Warning!"</title>
<link>http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/topic/2996#post-28969</link>
<pubDate>Fri, 09 May 2008 22:32:16 +0000</pubDate>
<dc:creator>guest32</dc:creator>
<guid isPermaLink="false">28969@http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/</guid>
<description>&#60;p&#62;It's not tested or updated in a long time, so it's still red, it's true that there has been security problems with some programs on the site though. That's why there's the virus forums. GAOTD does not give you viruses itself so it's safe.&#60;br /&#62;
Just ignore the warning, I use Siteadvisor Wot and linkscanner to check the official site of downloads to make sure it's a safe program.
&#60;/p&#62;</description>
</item>
<item>
<title>Michelle on "McAfee SiteAdvisor Warning!"</title>
<link>http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/topic/2996#post-28953</link>
<pubDate>Fri, 09 May 2008 18:17:54 +0000</pubDate>
<dc:creator>Michelle</dc:creator>
<guid isPermaLink="false">28953@http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/</guid>
<description>&#60;p&#62;That is what I hate about siteadvisor and Mcafee, they give a site for linking to a unsafe download, but &#60;a href=&#34;http://www.iwin.com&#34; rel=&#34;nofollow&#34;&#62;www.iwin.com&#60;/a&#62; is marked off as green.  However if you download the free games from their site be prepared they have stuff in them.  Avira was going crazy popping up and I really doubt it is a false positive.&#60;/p&#62;
&#60;p&#62;  &#60;a href=&#34;http://community.mcafee.com/showthread.php?t=220785&#34; rel=&#34;nofollow&#34;&#62;http://community.mcafee.com/showthread.php?t=220785&#60;/a&#62; (started a topic, no reply yet)
&#60;/p&#62;</description>
</item>
<item>
<title>hotdoge3 on "McAfee SiteAdvisor Warning!"</title>
<link>http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/topic/2996#post-28942</link>
<pubDate>Fri, 09 May 2008 08:37:57 +0000</pubDate>
<dc:creator>hotdoge3</dc:creator>
<guid isPermaLink="false">28942@http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/</guid>
<description>&#60;p&#62;If you read it say some like screen saver, most I check with McAfee from Giveawayoftheday are OK,I gheck be for down load if OK you be good to go as for McAfee some time say it OK &#38;#38; it not Rouge Spyware &#38;#38; it said good,Badware.org say so it bad &#38;#38; McAfee say green?
&#60;/p&#62;</description>
</item>
<item>
<title>sukibabe on "McAfee SiteAdvisor Warning!"</title>
<link>http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/topic/2996#post-23981</link>
<pubDate>Thu, 27 Mar 2008 12:53:07 +0000</pubDate>
<dc:creator>sukibabe</dc:creator>
<guid isPermaLink="false">23981@http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/</guid>
<description>&#60;p&#62;LeKanaw&#60;/p&#62;
&#60;p&#62;Lol, that comment about &#34;has not been updated for awhile&#34; reminds me of M$ &#34;Error reporting&#34;!&#60;/p&#62;
&#60;p&#62;I chose McAfee because it's like my favorite pair of jeans, I'm used to it!&#60;br /&#62;
I however liked their 2005 version better!&#60;br /&#62;
They are right on some of the red sites I CHOOSE to visit,lol,includes some awful pictures of chicks in my area(supposedly),with big boobs!&#60;br /&#62;
I just run Spybot after I get those,lmao!&#60;/p&#62;
&#60;p&#62;McAfee is like IE, it gets most of the share, doesn't make it right!&#60;br /&#62;
My Motto &#34;take everything with a grain of salt&#34;!&#60;/p&#62;
&#60;p&#62;Suki
&#60;/p&#62;</description>
</item>
<item>
<title>LeKanaw on "McAfee SiteAdvisor Warning!"</title>
<link>http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/topic/2996#post-23977</link>
<pubDate>Thu, 27 Mar 2008 12:23:01 +0000</pubDate>
<dc:creator>LeKanaw</dc:creator>
<guid isPermaLink="false">23977@http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/</guid>
<description>&#60;p&#62;Hi Linux&#60;br /&#62;
BuBBy is quite knowledgeable! And he has proven so time &#38;#38; time again.&#60;br /&#62;
He is always helping the community, without bias. We all value his opinion!!!!&#60;br /&#62;
I really don't see why would he *make up* stories about a SW or a site or a company.&#60;br /&#62;
McAfee's database has not been updated for awhile, their methods have been in question.&#60;br /&#62;
A LOT of people have moved away from McAfee and seek a more trustworthy method.&#60;br /&#62;
Most have adopted WOT.&#60;br /&#62;
But you don't have to take BuBBy's word for it. You can search it for yourself.&#60;br /&#62;
And you are free to use any SW you wish.&#60;br /&#62;
As Suki said, SW does some of the job, your mind has to do the rest!
&#60;/p&#62;</description>
</item>
<item>
<title>sukibabe on "McAfee SiteAdvisor Warning!"</title>
<link>http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/topic/2996#post-23973</link>
<pubDate>Thu, 27 Mar 2008 11:36:51 +0000</pubDate>
<dc:creator>sukibabe</dc:creator>
<guid isPermaLink="false">23973@http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/</guid>
<description>&#60;p&#62;I have McAfee Security Center, which includes the site advisor.&#60;/p&#62;
&#60;p&#62;I make up my own mind! I have more problems with the green sites,lol!&#60;/p&#62;
&#60;p&#62;Suki
&#60;/p&#62;</description>
</item>
<item>
<title>Linuxchix0r on "McAfee SiteAdvisor Warning!"</title>
<link>http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/topic/2996#post-23929</link>
<pubDate>Thu, 27 Mar 2008 01:25:16 +0000</pubDate>
<dc:creator>Linuxchix0r</dc:creator>
<guid isPermaLink="false">23929@http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/</guid>
<description>&#60;p&#62;You admit there are links to infected files on the site but you fault Mcafee Site Advisor as being worthless?
&#60;/p&#62;</description>
</item>
<item>
<title>BuBBy on "McAfee SiteAdvisor Warning!"</title>
<link>http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/topic/2996#post-23914</link>
<pubDate>Wed, 26 Mar 2008 23:32:52 +0000</pubDate>
<dc:creator>BuBBy</dc:creator>
<guid isPermaLink="false">23914@http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/</guid>
<description>&#60;p&#62;McAfee SiteAdvisor = Absolutely unwanted, misleading and useless program.&#60;/p&#62;
&#60;p&#62;Note on the front page - all the sites Giveawayoftheday.com links to are green.&#60;/p&#62;
&#60;p&#62;Then click on one of the &#34;infected&#34; files that is causing GOTD to get a Red rating...&#60;/p&#62;
&#60;p&#62;URL of the download: &#60;a href=&#34;http://www.bestnzb.com/download/&#34; rel=&#34;nofollow&#34;&#62;http://www.bestnzb.com/download/&#60;/a&#62;&#60;/p&#62;
&#60;p&#62;OMG - bestnzb.com - where did that come from?? Why was it not mentioned on the front page (considering it is the cause of the red rating?)&#60;/p&#62;
&#60;p&#62;Don't lose any sleep - provided you don't &#34;accidentally&#34; try to download on of those four obscure files from the software library (which your antivirus should pick up anyway) This site is just as reliable/trustworthy as always.&#60;/p&#62;
&#60;p&#62;If you want site ratings based on human experience instead of a computer running a script to tell you if you can trust a site, have a look at &#60;a href=&#34;http://www.mywot.com&#34; rel=&#34;nofollow&#34;&#62;http://www.mywot.com&#60;/a&#62;
&#60;/p&#62;</description>
</item>
<item>
<title>jlhns40 on "McAfee SiteAdvisor Warning!"</title>
<link>http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/topic/2996#post-23911</link>
<pubDate>Wed, 26 Mar 2008 23:12:09 +0000</pubDate>
<dc:creator>jlhns40</dc:creator>
<guid isPermaLink="false">23911@http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/</guid>
<description>&#60;p&#62;Although not as dire as SiteAdvisor, CallingID gives the following report about GAOTD.&#60;br /&#62;
Note that the last line in the report is  in amber which is equivalent of McAfee amber. So it is assessed as a risk, albeit lower than SiteAdvisor. If the software offered on GAOTD is not certified as malware free, like that on Snapfiles.com, I would be very wary.&#60;/p&#62;
&#60;p&#62;From CallingID:&#60;/p&#62;
&#60;p&#62;&#34;The site you accessed is giveawayoftheday.com.&#60;br /&#62;
CallingID verification tests for the site that will receive your data have found the following:&#60;/p&#62;
&#60;p&#62;The site ownership has been identified.&#60;br /&#62;
The site is not on a scamming or phishing blacklist.&#60;br /&#62;
Site owner is not listed as an active organization&#60;/p&#62;
&#60;p&#62;This site currently being accessed has a CallingID risk assessment of Low Risk.&#60;br /&#62;
Please verify that you trust the owner of this site before you give information to this site.&#34;
&#60;/p&#62;</description>
</item>
<item>
<title>jlhns40 on "McAfee SiteAdvisor Warning!"</title>
<link>http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/topic/2996#post-23908</link>
<pubDate>Wed, 26 Mar 2008 22:49:11 +0000</pubDate>
<dc:creator>jlhns40</dc:creator>
<guid isPermaLink="false">23908@http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/</guid>
<description>&#60;p&#62;Here is what McAfee SiteAdvisor has to say about giveawayoftheday.com:&#60;/p&#62;
&#60;p&#62;&#34;In our tests, we found downloads on this site that some people consider adware, spyware or other potentially unwanted programs.&#34;&#60;/p&#62;
&#60;p&#62;&#60;a href=&#34;http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/giveawayoftheday.com?suite=false&#38;#38;premium=false&#38;#38;client_ver=2.6.0.6253&#38;#38;client_type=IEPlugin&#34; rel=&#34;nofollow&#34;&#62;http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/giveawayoftheday.com?suite=false&#38;#38;premium=false&#38;#38;client_ver=2.6.0.6253&#38;#38;client_type=IEPlugin&#60;/a&#62;
&#60;/p&#62;</description>
</item>

</channel>
</rss>
