<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!-- generator="bbPress/1.2" -->
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom">
	<channel>
		<title>Giveaway of the Day Forums &#187; Topic: Butterfly Hunter - Free?</title>
		<link>https://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/topic/1137</link>
		<description>Giveaway of the Day Forums &#187; Topic: Butterfly Hunter - Free?</description>
		<language>en-US</language>
		<pubDate>Sat, 13 Jun 2026 05:27:12 +0000</pubDate>
		<generator>http://bbpress.org/?v=1.2</generator>
		<atom:link href="https://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/rss/topic/1137" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />

		<item>
			<title>BuBBy on "Butterfly Hunter - Free?"</title>
			<link>https://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/topic/1137#post-6517</link>
			<pubDate>Mon, 04 Jun 2007 10:01:39 +0000</pubDate>
			<dc:creator>BuBBy</dc:creator>
			<guid isPermaLink="false">6517@https://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/</guid>
			<description><p>All I am saying, the word "free" tends to get misused quite a bit (eg. free download) and implying that something is free, when in fact it is not, I believe is nothing short of deceptive.</p>
<p>If the only way to get people to try your products is to mislead them or trick them, then it only shows you don't have a great deal of confidence in the quality of your products.</p>
<p>I also note that the site does not disclose how large each game download is. For example RiskII is 80MB. For a user who might be on dialup to download a "free game" to find out it will only function for 60 minutes - I can imagine they might feel a little upset.</p>
<p>Sites like this should disclose up front that the games are shareware, and what the shareware limitations are, and the size of each of the downloads. Having a working registration link would be a plus (although I have only downloaded and checked Butterfly Hunter - the other games *might* be ok).
</p></description>
		</item>
		<item>
			<title>Jucati on "Butterfly Hunter - Free?"</title>
			<link>https://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/topic/1137#post-6516</link>
			<pubDate>Mon, 04 Jun 2007 09:39:30 +0000</pubDate>
			<dc:creator>Jucati</dc:creator>
			<guid isPermaLink="false">6516@https://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/</guid>
			<description><p>So GAOTD is advertising for a site that doesn't even work? :) (though I guess they must get some decent amount of ad revenue... right?)</p>
<p>Thanks for the investigation, BuBBy.
</p></description>
		</item>
		<item>
			<title>BuBBy on "Butterfly Hunter - Free?"</title>
			<link>https://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/topic/1137#post-6515</link>
			<pubDate>Mon, 04 Jun 2007 09:16:59 +0000</pubDate>
			<dc:creator>BuBBy</dc:creator>
			<guid isPermaLink="false">6515@https://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/</guid>
			<description><p>The site "FREEgamesarea.com" is one of those misleading sites that promises a lot but delivers very little.</p>
<p>Yes. The games are "absolutely free" to play.... 15 times. Otherwise known as "shareware".</p>
<blockquote><p>Thank you for using Butterfly Hunter. This is trial version you can use it for 15 days or run 15 times (whichever expires first). Registering the game removes all limitation!</p></blockquote>
<p>So FreeGamesArea.com has lots of free games - every one is 100% free to download. And for the first 15 times you play the game it won't cost a cent.</p>
<p>The curious thing is that should you decide to register the game - the ordering page is</p>
<p><a href="http://links.giveawayoftheday.com/freegamesarea.com/404.html">http://freegamesarea.com/404.html</a></p>
<p>So it is time limited shareware that cannot be registered. I'd suggest don't waste your time on this site.
</p></description>
		</item>
		<item>
			<title>Jucati on "Butterfly Hunter - Free?"</title>
			<link>https://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/topic/1137#post-6514</link>
			<pubDate>Mon, 04 Jun 2007 08:26:09 +0000</pubDate>
			<dc:creator>Jucati</dc:creator>
			<guid isPermaLink="false">6514@https://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/</guid>
			<description><p>Oh, unsurprising - I tried clicking on the games on the sidebar for more information, and they were all direct downloads from DoubleGames. That explains a lot...
</p></description>
		</item>
		<item>
			<title>Jucati on "Butterfly Hunter - Free?"</title>
			<link>https://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/topic/1137#post-6513</link>
			<pubDate>Mon, 04 Jun 2007 08:24:20 +0000</pubDate>
			<dc:creator>Jucati</dc:creator>
			<guid isPermaLink="false">6513@https://www.giveawayoftheday.com/forums/</guid>
			<description><p>Today's game offer, Butterfly Hunter, is published by "FREEgamesarea.com", and their website says that the game is "absolutely free" to play. So why is Game Giveaway claiming that it's worth $14.95?</p>
<p>just... out of curiosity.
</p></description>
		</item>

	</channel>
</rss>
